Late in the Game

When I initially thought about creating a blog for myself – not on behalf of my family, not on behalf of my students, and not on behalf of a committee or organization – but purely for me, I kept thinking that I would at least be writing for others about myself. Recently, however, and I don’t know why I’m so late in the game to not have realized this sooner, I had an epiphany, while driving my car no less, that I should not write for others but for myself. And myself only. And if others want to read about my thoughts, then they can. But this is more like my diary, made for the public. That sounds a bit counter-intuitive when I write it out like that, but this is me. I do not expect everyone to agree with me. In fact, I am sure that some of my ideas may in fact upset some. While I will do my best to remain mature and thoughtful in what I write, I must remember that this is for me, and no one else.

I think that in the beginning you will see many posts, daily if not multiple per day. And then once I have gotten most everything off of my chest and released the burden of holding on to things, the number of posts will most likely dwindle.

But this is my embarkation for progress. I want to embark on my blogging journey for progress in myself (as someone who appreciates fine foods, who enjoys wine making, who avidly reads as much as a wife and mom is able to), progress in my teaching (to enhance my instruction to better motivate, engage, and autonomize (yes, that is a real word) my students while decreasing cognitive load, efficiently integrating tech, and effectively increasing learning outcomes), and progress in my professional development (through my PLN).

Yes, that’s right. Perhaps it was my desire to create a PLN that drove me to create this embarkment (yes, that is another real word). But like I wrote before, this is for me.

I do encourage you to join me in this journey, but I will be just fine if you opt out.

Leave a Reply

